The Finn Family
Nathaniel Finn purchased a house in Farina in 1889 with his brother James, and they were joined by their brother David in 1896. The allotment was in the Farina Township, Lot 381.
Nat was a rouseabout and general labourer at Mt Lyndhurst and Mt No-West Stations and prospected around Marree and Broken Hill. He also trained camels for transport and used them for patrolling the dog fence between Lake Torrens and Broken Hill. Nat admired the Afghans and learnt a little of their language. His brothers ran donkeys, camels and later motor transports from Lyndhurst siding up the Strzelecki Track until the 1930s.
Nat married Lucy Evans in 1896 and raised a family of seven girls — Everleen, Ivy, May, Jane, Edith, Dolly (Dorothy) and Connie in the Farina township.
The site of the Finn’s house is marked by a square water tank with the family names painted on the side. His grave in the cemetery is marked with the wrought iron cross in which is centred the shape of the camel.
Large families were not uncommon back in those days, and Nat Finn’s brother, William David Finn married Ethel Ellen Edwards and had 17 children. Download this newspaper article from the Adelaide News which covers a story about the large family.
To view the descendants of Nathaniel James “Nat” Finn download here.
Or to explore the Finn family tree click on one of the Finn family below: